01

What are the Fann Mountains, and who are they for?

The Fann Mountains are a small, high range in northern Tajikistan, reachable from Samarkand, Dushanbe and Khujand, with peaks over 5,000 m and dozens of lakes. The Tajik Committee for Tourism Development names Kulikalon, Haftkul (the Seven Lakes) and Iskanderkul among the lakes of Sughd region. You base yourself in one of four places.

Two bases need no hiking: the Seven Lakes, where a road runs past six of the lakes, and Iskanderkul, at the end of a mostly asphalt side road. Artuch and Alauddin are for walkers: day hikes to the Kulikalon and Alauddin lakes, and multi-day treks over passes of 3,300–4,750 m.

Caravanistan, the Central Asia travel guide, says even the easiest multi-day routes mean about 700 m of ascent a day, and the range has no trail markings. New to altitude? Stay at the two lake bases.

The four bases, as described by the sources named (read 24 September 2026)
BaseWhereHeightGood forWhere you sleep
Seven Lakes (Haft Kul)Shing valley, 45–60 km south of PenjikentLakes at about 1,600–2,400 m (Caravanistan)Driving or walking from lake to lake; no trekking neededGuesthouses in Nofin and Padrud, the Marguzor tourist base
Iskanderkul and SarytagAyni district, 25 km up a side road from near SarvodaAbout 2,200 m (Seven Lakes Tajikistan, Central Asia Travel)Lake walks, a waterfall, Snake Lake; Sarytag is a trailheadTourist bases and guesthouses, shore and Sarytag
Artuch and KulikalonArtuch base camp, above Artuch village east of PenjikentCamp 2,200 m (camp site); Kulikalon lakes about 2,800 m (Eurasia Travel)Day hike to Kulikalon; start of the Fann Lakes circuitArtuch base camp: rooms, cabins, tent pitches
AlauddinChapdara valley, Vertikal Alauddin camp, reached from SarvodaAlauddin lakes about 2,700 m (Central Asia Travel)Alauddin lake 45 min from the camp; start of the Chimtarga and Kaznok treksVertikal Alauddin: tents and cabins; camping by the lake

02

How do you get to each base?

Penjikent is the gateway to the Seven Lakes and Artuch; Sarvoda, a village on the Dushanbe–Khujand road, is the gateway to Iskanderkul and Alauddin. Shared transport reaches every base but runs once or twice a day, so a hired car saves most of a day.

The fares below are reported by travellers and camps, with dates; none is an official tariff. Seven Lakes fares range from 50 TJS (Caravanistan, September 2025) to 120 TJS (the Sailingstone Travel blog, updated July 2026, trip date not given), so budget for the higher figure.

No road crosses the mountains between the bases. The Seven Lakes to Iskanderkul is about 190 km by car via Ayni (our OpenStreetMap calculation), most of a day; our 10-day Uzbekistan and Tajikistan route drives it in one day.

Getting to the four bases, as reported. Fares per seat unless marked. USD at the Central Bank of Uzbekistan cross-rate of 24 September 2026 (about 9.26 TJS to US$1). Not official tariffs.
BaseFromShared transport (reported)Private car (quoted)Time
Seven Lakes (Padrud, Marguzor)Penjikent, near the bazaar50 TJS around midday (Caravanistan, Sep 2025); 120 TJS at 10:00 (blog updated Jul 2026, about US$13); back from Padrud about 06:00, 90 TJS (May 2025)700 TJS asked in Penjikent; 400 TJS back via a Nofin guesthouse (blog updated Jul 2026)About 2–2.5 h
Artuch base campPenjikent, marshrutka 3335–50 TJS to Yakkakhona, 2–3 a day, then about 200 TJS a car to the camp (traveller, Jun 2024)550 TJS for a 7-seat marshrutka, plus 200 TJS to the camp (traveller post, Feb 2026)About 2 h
IskanderkulDushanbe50 TJS to Sarvoda (2 h 30 min), then 200 TJS a car, or 20–50 TJS a seat from the turn-off; back 80 TJS from Sarytag, book the evening before (Caravanistan, May 2025)About US$100 one way (Caravanistan, 2025); US$200 per vehicle (Vertikal Alauddin price list, 2026)About 3 h by car
IskanderkulPenjikent or KhujandDushanbe-bound taxi to Sarvoda: 50 TJS from Penjikent, 120 TJS from Khujand (Caravanistan, May 2025)No quote foundMost of a day
Alauddin (Vertikal camp)Sarvoda200 TJS a car from Sarvoda (Caravanistan, Jul 2024)US$220 per vehicle from Dushanbe or the Jartepa post; US$120 camp to Iskanderkul (Vertikal Alauddin, 2026)Not published

03

What are the Seven Lakes like, and how far does the road go?

The Seven Lakes (Haft Kul in Tajik, the Marguzor lakes in Russian) are a chain of lakes in the Shing valley south of Penjikent. A road runs up past the first six; you can see them from a car in a day, or walk from lake to lake and sleep in a village guesthouse.

Caravanistan's Haft Kul page gives the distances from Penjikent: the Shing checkpoint at km 35, the first lake at km 45, Nofin at km 50, Padrud at km 53 and Marguzor at km 55. The road is half asphalt, half gravel; no 4WD is needed. Shared vehicles stop at the sixth lake; the path along the seventh, Hazorchashma, takes about 45 minutes.

Khovar, Tajikistan's state news agency, reported in July 2025 that lodgings for tourists have been built around the lakes, that the Marguzor tourist base works above Marguzor lake and that hunting is banned in the valley. The Committee for Environmental Protection held its fifth mountain eco half-marathon here on 1–2 August 2026, with about 200 runners from 18 countries (Avesta).

Walking from the first lake to the seventh takes a full day: about 15 km by Caravanistan's count, or 18 km and 1,372 m of ascent over two days with a night at Nofin (Sailingstone). A two-day trail over the Komichora pass comes in from Mogiyon. Do not walk south from Hazorchashma: the path leads to the Hissor pass on the Uzbek border.

04

What is there at Iskanderkul, and is there a fee?

Iskanderkul is the largest lake in the Fanns, at about 2,200 m, 25 km up a side road from the Dushanbe–Khujand highway near Sarvoda. Tour.tj, a Tajik travel platform, puts it about 130 km and 3–4 hours from Dushanbe. Come for a night or two of short walks.

Caravanistan's Iskanderkul page (updated May 2025) lists the walks: a waterfall about 1 km along the river from the entrance bridge, Snake Lake 20 minutes above the main tourist base, and Sarytag village 9 km beyond the lake, where treks start. The water is bluest on sunny autumn days; in high summer, meltwater can turn it grey.

Foreigners pay an entrance charge for the Iskanderkul nature preserve at a post just before the bridge. Caravanistan says it is negotiable and has no advertised price, and Tour.tj lists paid entry without an amount. We found no published tariff, so carry small somoni notes.

The shore has an old tourist base, the newer Zumrad camp and several guesthouses; Sarytag has at least four (Caravanistan). Most shore guesthouses open May–October; the tourist base and Sarytag take guests all year. Weekends are loud with local groups. Bring food unless your host cooks: Tour.tj notes there are no shops nearby.

05

Can you see Kulikalon or Alauddin without a multi-day trek?

Yes. Both lake groups are day hikes from a base you can drive to, though the drive from Penjikent, Dushanbe or Samarkand takes two to four hours.

Kulikalon from Artuch. Artuch base camp, a mountaineering base founded in 1971, sits at 2,200 m above Artuch village and is open from 1 May to 1 October (camp site). The Kulikalon lakes, at about 2,800 m, lie beyond the Laudan pass (3,625 m on OpenStreetMap), 14 km one way from Artuch village (Caravanistan). A traveller posted in February 2026 that his group left Samarkand in the morning, reached Artuch camp at 12:45 and walked to Kulikalon the same day (Caravanistan forum).

Alauddin from the Vertikal camp. The Alauddin lakes, at about 2,700 m, are a 45-minute walk above the Vertikal Alauddin camp in the Chapdara valley (Caravanistan). The camp's site says it opens from 15 June in 2026, with tents and new four-bed cabins, but has no rescue team of its own this year.

06

Which treks link the bases, and how hard are they?

The main routes join the bases in two to six days over passes of 3,300–4,750 m; Caravanistan grades them from moderate to most demanding. After a snowy winter, snow can block the passes into June, and Chimtarga and Kaznok need crampons and an ice axe outside high summer.

The table gives OpenStreetMap's pass heights and Russian hiking grades, with Caravanistan's height in brackets where it differs. n/c (non-categorised) ranks below 1A, the lowest numbered grade; 1B is the next step up.

Treks from Hakimi and summit climbs are beyond this guide. To compare with trekking between yurt camps, see our Kyrgyzstan trekking guide.

Main Fann treks. Days and difficulty: Caravanistan (updated July 2024; Komichora September 2025). Pass heights and grades: OpenStreetMap, read 24 September 2026.
RouteStart → finishDaysKey passGradeDifficulty
Fann Lakes circuitArtuch → Kulikalon → Alauddin → Artuch4Laudan 3,625 m; Alauddin 3,780 mn/cModerate
Alauddin to IskanderkulVertikal Alauddin → Sarytag4Kaznok 4,040 m1BHard
Alauddin to the Seven LakesVertikal Alauddin → Padrud6Chimtarga 4,740 m (4,750 m)1BMost demanding
Iskanderkul to the Seven Lakes, hard waySarytag → Padrud3Sarymat 4,100 m (4,115 m)1AMost demanding
Iskanderkul to the Seven Lakes, moderate waySarytag → Padrud4Dukdon 3,810 m; Tavasang 3,305 m1A; n/cModerate
KomichoraMogiyon → Hazorchashma (Seven Lakes)2Komichora 3,330 m (3,300 m)n/cTwo long days: 17 km and 18 km

07

Do you need a permit, a guide or registration?

No special permit. The Fanns lie in Sughd region, and the GBAO permit covers only Gorno-Badakhshan, whose districts the Tajik Committee for Tourism Development lists separately. We found no park-wide ticket either. What you do need:

  • Passport and printed e-visa. Caravanistan reports checkpoints at Shing on the Seven Lakes road and beyond Hakimi.
  • The right visa. US, EU, Canadian, Australian, Japanese and South Korean passports enter visa-free for 30 days; British, Indian, Israeli and Chinese (under 55) citizens need a visa first, such as the US$30 e-visa. Details in our Tajikistan visa and GBAO permit guide.
  • Registration only for longer stays. Tajikistan's consular department says visitors who stay no more than 10 working days and leave within them need not register.
  • Cash for local charges. The Iskanderkul preserve charge at the bridge (no published amount); a forest tax of about US$5 a day per person listed by the Vertikal Alauddin camp for 2026; a tourist tax at Artuch camp, amount not stated.
  • A guide for the passes, unless you have strong navigation skills. No law requires one, but there are no trail markings and the UK Foreign Office advises against trekking alone. Artuch camp arranges licensed guides, porters and mules; book ahead for July and August.

08

Where do you sleep, and what does it cost?

Expect roughly US$10–40 a night per person, mostly paid in cash. The table gives the two mountain camps' published 2026 prices and dated reports for the rest; these are other businesses' prices, not ours.

Take out cash in town: Borderless Expeditions, a Pamir operator, lists ATMs in Dushanbe and a few larger towns including Penjikent (March 2026); we know of none at the lakes or camps.

Book Artuch and Vertikal by phone, messenger or email (contacts on their sites). The Sailingstone writer booked a Nofin guesthouse on Booking.com.

Where you sleep and eat, as published or reported. USD at the Central Bank of Uzbekistan cross-rate of 24 September 2026.
PlaceWhatPriceSource and date
Artuch base campRoom in the main building, per person, breakfast included250 TJS (about US$27)Camp price list for 2026, read 24 Sep 2026
Artuch base campCabin, per person, breakfast included350 TJS (about US$38)Same
Artuch base campPitch for your own tent, per person / rented 4-person tent60 TJS a night / 200 TJS a nightSame
Vertikal AlauddinOwn tent / camp tent / bed in a four-bed cabin, per personUS$5 / US$15 / US$25 a nightCamp price list for 2026, read 24 Sep 2026
Vertikal AlauddinThree meals / forest taxUS$25 a day / about US$5 a day per personSame
Iskanderkul and SarytagGuesthouse bed; with dinner and breakfastUS$10–15; US$15–20Caravanistan, May 2025; prices negotiable
Seven Lakes, NofinDinner at a guesthouse (breakfast came with the room)80 TJS (about US$8.60)Sailingstone Travel, updated Jul 2026
Trek supportPack donkey / guided trek with gear and mealsAbout US$15 a day / US$50–100 a day, by group sizeTime Travel Turtle, updated Jul 2026; trip year not stated

09

When can you go?

Go between June and September. The camps and most lake guesthouses work from May to October, but Caravanistan puts trekking weather at its steadiest from July to mid-September, when snow has left all but the highest passes. For the whole country month by month, see when to visit Tajikistan.

Caravanistan warns that the road to Iskanderkul is dangerous before May and after October, though transport to Sarytag runs all year. Late September to mid-October is a gamble on the passes; from October to May the high routes are for winter mountaineers only. In summer the lakes are noticeably cooler than Dushanbe or Penjikent (Caravanistan).

Opening seasons as published or reported (read 24 September 2026). No Tajik official source publishes a season for the lakes.
WhatOpenSource
Artuch base camp1 May – 1 OctoberCamp site, 2026
Vertikal Alauddin campFrom 15 June in 2026; other dates by arrangementCamp site, 2026
Iskanderkul shore guesthousesMostly May–October; the tourist base and Sarytag guesthouses all yearCaravanistan, May 2025
High passes (Chimtarga, Kaznok)Usually snow-free in high summer; July to mid-SeptemberCaravanistan, July 2024
Seven Lakes road and lodgingsIn use in summer 2026: half-marathon on 1–2 AugustKhovar, Avesta, 2026

10

What goes wrong in the Fanns, and how do you stay safe?

Most problems come from altitude, weather, thin rescue and the nearby Uzbek border. The US State Department rates Tajikistan Level 2 (exercise increased caution); our Tajikistan safety guide covers the country-wide advice.

  • Slow, limited rescue. The UK Foreign Office says mountain rescue is staffed by volunteers with limited equipment; Caravanistan says there is no formal rescue service; Vertikal Alauddin has no rescue team in 2026. Buy insurance that covers trekking at altitude and evacuation.
  • No signal on the passes. Mobile coverage in remote areas is minimal (UK Foreign Office); Artuch camp lists Tcell coverage and radio. Leave your route and return date with your camp, as the UK and Russian foreign ministries advise.
  • Landmines and the Uzbek border. The US State Department warns of unexploded landmines along the Uzbek–Tajik border and says not to leave the road where areas are marked with red-and-white tape. The Hissor pass south of Hazorchashma is on that border: Caravanistan warns of arrest and possible mines.
  • Altitude, sun and weather. Passes reach 3,300–4,750 m. Caravanistan warns of altitude sickness and strong sun; the UK Foreign Office warns of avalanches, rockfall, fast weather changes and summer snow at altitude.
  • Water and dogs. Livestock graze high, so treat stream water; shepherd dogs can be aggressive (Caravanistan).
  • Crowded jeeps, high quotes, loud weekends. Caravanistan describes packed Seven Lakes jeeps, Penjikent drivers holding prices, and a disco at the old Iskanderkul base until about 3 am. Agree fares first; for quiet, stay in Sarytag.
  • What we could not verify: the Iskanderkul preserve charge, 2026 shared-taxi fares to the lakes, and Seven Lakes room prices.

11

Starting from Samarkand, and how we help

From Samarkand, the Jartepa–Sarazm border is 40–50 minutes away and Penjikent 15–25 minutes beyond it; the Seven Lakes and Artuch are about two hours further. Every leg, fare and crossing step is in Samarkand to Dushanbe via Penjikent.

The Uzbek Customs list of border posts classes Jartepa as a bilateral post, which normally means only Uzbek and Tajik citizens may cross. Travellers with other passports reported crossing here on foot between May 2025 and September 2026. No published rule settles which applies to you; confirm with the Uzbek Customs Committee (+998 55 502 76 00) before you go.

Tajik operators sell the Seven Lakes as a one-day tour from Samarkand, with two border crossings in a day. For nights in the mountains, follow our 10-day Uzbekistan and Tajikistan route. If you hold an Uzbek e-visa and return to Samarkand, buy the double-entry (US$35) or multiple-entry (US$50) version; see our Uzbek visa and registration guide.

We arrange the Uzbekistan part: hotels, trains and the transfer from Samarkand to the Jartepa post. For Tajikistan we advise on bases, routes and what to agree with a driver or camp; we do not book Tajik services. Send us your dates. More on the country: Tajikistan guides, and for the high-altitude road trip, the Pamir Highway guide.

Common questions

How do you get to the Seven Lakes from Penjikent?

By shared jeep or minivan from near Penjikent bazaar, once or twice a day: 50 TJS a seat in Caravanistan's September 2025 update, 120 TJS in a blog updated July 2026. The ride to Padrud and Marguzor takes about 2–2.5 hours. A private car is faster; agree the price first.

Can you do the Seven Lakes as a day trip from Samarkand?

Yes, Tajik operators sell it as a one-day tour, but you cross the Jartepa border twice in one day. The Uzbek Customs list classes Jartepa as a bilateral post, so confirm with the Uzbek Customs Committee (+998 55 502 76 00) that your passport is accepted.

Do you need a permit for the Fann Mountains?

No. The Fanns are in Sughd region, not Gorno-Badakhshan, so the GBAO permit does not apply. You pay only local charges, such as the Iskanderkul preserve fee at the bridge, and show your passport and any e-visa at checkpoints such as Shing.

How much is the entrance fee to Iskanderkul?

We found no published tariff. Caravanistan (May 2025) says foreigners pay a negotiable charge at the post before the bridge, and Tour.tj lists paid entry without an amount. Carry small somoni notes.

Can you hike in the Fann Mountains without a guide?

Trekkers who navigate well do, with GPS tracks, but there are no trail markings, rescue is run by volunteers with limited equipment, and the UK Foreign Office advises against trekking alone. For a first high-mountain trek, take a guide; Artuch camp arranges guides, porters and mules.

How far is Iskanderkul from Dushanbe?

About 130 km and 3–4 hours by car (Tour.tj); the last 25 km is a mostly asphalt side road from near Sarvoda. By shared taxi, it is 50 TJS to Sarvoda, then 20–50 TJS a seat or 200 TJS a car to the lake (Caravanistan, May 2025).

Sources and checks

Sources checked online on 24 September 2026. Official and local sources first: the Tajik Committee for Tourism Development (GBAO status), the Tajik consular department and foreign ministry (registration and visas), Khovar and Avesta (the Seven Lakes in 2025–26), the two mountain camps' own 2026 price lists and season notices, Tour.tj and two Tashkent operators for lake heights, and the Uzbek Customs list for Jartepa. Fares, trek routes and lodging come from Caravanistan and dated traveller reports, which are not tariffs. No official source publishes the Iskanderkul preserve charge, a lake season or 2026 shared-taxi fares. Pass heights and grades are OpenStreetMap data; driving distances and USD conversions are our calculations. We did not walk these routes for this page.